Who We Are

Whiting Refinery Federal Credit Union is an independent, federally chartered organization owned and directed by its members – your friends and fellow employees.

We are a non-profit organization supervised by the Federal Government. The profit that is left after legal reserves and expenses are paid is divided among the members as dividends and interest refunds.

Our Purpose

Our purpose is to help you save your money conveniently with cash deposits, payroll deductions or by United States Mail. When it comes to loans, our purpose is to give you quick and confidential service at a low cost.

How We Operate

WRFCU is governed by a Board of Directors who are elected by the membership at the annual meeting. Other committees are appointed by the Board and President.

A supervisory committee audits the Credit Union operation and Loan Officers are responsible for acting on loans within the guidelines of the bylaws and the Board of Directors.

A full-time manager with staff are engaged to provide our members with prompt and courteous service.

Our History

The Whiting Refinery Federal Credit Union was organized and chartered by Leo M. Myers and Standard Oil of Indiana, Whiting Refinery employees in March of 1935.  Since then the Refinery in Whiting has changed its name because of mergers and company purchases to American Oil, AMOCO, and BP.  Our credit union has retained its name.  After all we are here to serve the employees of the refinery and their families.

The first President of the Board of Directors was Leo M. Myers, who served for over 40 years.

The Credit Union started with $45.00 and has grown to over $59,000,000.00. Its growth and progress has been the result of constant search for new and better ways to serve its members. In 1960, the Credit Union purchased its own building at 1339 – 119th Street, Whiting. The office is staffed with friendly, qualified service-oriented employees.


Julie Boyle


Lori Nolasco

Assistant Manager

Lisa Suttlar

Assistant Loan Officer

Carmen Rangel

Teller / Clerk

Board of Directors

Carl Towner


Dave Kirchhoff

Vice President

Janet Brezene


Bob Markovich


Sue Mateja
Tony Puente
Paula Rogers

Supervisory Committee Member

Minnie Yan

Supervisory Committee Member

Mike Abercrombie
Dave Matura